Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Advice needed on bike sale in PA  (Read 4914 times)

Offline Rincewind

• Motorcycles: DL650A
Advice needed on bike sale in PA
« on: March 21, 2014, 04:34:01 PM »
I have a cash buyer interested in seeing my wife's Suzuki.  He wants to come by Sunday morning to see it.

The title is in my wife's name and she will be away at a Reiki training class.

I don't see that there are any local notaries open on Sundays for title transfer.

I have never done a private sale of a bike before.  I have bought through private sales and we met at a notary office that specializes in vehicle transfers - Bimmers in Lancaster.

If my wife is not home, and I can't get the title transferred, is it possible/adviseable to complete a bill of sale, take the cash, and give him the bike, with the agreement that my wife would meet him somewhere on Monday to transfer the title separately?

Do I need to verify that he has insurance first?  Would I be opening myself to liability issues if I give him the bike without a title?  The local notary office is open only Saturday morning and we won't be available at that time.

Any advice on private bike sales in PA?  Any recommendations for title transfer places near Ephrata?

Thank you!

Online Mustang

• Allentown,Pa
  • Motorcycles: K1600GT
Re: Advice needed on bike sale in PA
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2014, 04:48:55 PM »
You having cash and title is a good thing, BUT lawyers rule, there is a chance if they have accident with it while still in your name, there could be a window for law suite against you! I would wait for another day with a notory!
John

Offline Rincewind

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2014, 04:56:43 PM »
Thanks, John.  That is the same thing the notary place told me.  It's not illegal but it's also not advisable.

Online ixxion

• Contributor
  • Motorcycles: Mucho CBR1100XX
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2014, 05:00:28 PM »
Is the buyer a PA resident?