Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Canbus?  (Read 7990 times)

Offline Stripes

• I'm On A Boat!
  • Motorcycles: Triumph
Canbus?
« on: January 24, 2014, 09:54:14 AM »
What is this "canbus" system that I've been hearing about lately concerning motorcycle batteries & Battery Tenders? Many thanks in advance! Cheers
Hard work, pays off in the future. Laziness, pays off now.

Offline Smilodon_Con

Re: Canbus?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2014, 11:09:51 AM »
It's the proprietary BMW float charger that costs $349.95.

Sent from my SCH-S720C using Tapatalk 2

Offline mxvet57

• Contributor
  • Loud horns save lives
  • Motorcycles: 04 FJR, 06 Speed triple, 88 EX500, 05 YZ250, 91 KX500
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2014, 11:12:32 AM »
I'm no expert but what i understand about it is it's a way for all the computers on a vehicle to talk to each other over a single wire.

http://canbuskit.com/what.php

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Controller_area_network

CAN bus (for controller area network) is a vehicle bus standard designed to allow microcontrollers and devices to communicate with each other within a vehicle without a host computer.

CAN bus is a message-based protocol, designed specifically for automotive applications but now also used in other areas such as aerospace, maritime, industrial automation and medical equipment.

Development of the CAN bus started originally in 1983 at Robert Bosch GmbH.[1] The protocol was officially released in 1986 at the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) congress in Detroit, Michigan. The first CAN controller chips, produced by Intel and Philips, came on the market in 1987. Bosch published the CAN 2.0 specification in 1991. In 2012 Bosch has specified the improved CAN data link layer protocol, called CAN FD, which will extend the ISO 11898-1.