Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Time for #3 GPS unit....  (Read 412 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online zer0netgain

  • Member
  • Location: Bristol, VA
  • Posts: 305
  • Motorcycles: 2018 BMW R1200RS
Time for #3 GPS unit....
« on: February 12, 2020, 10:10:14 AM »
Well, I'm again replacing the Garmin Navigator VI....to Garmin's credit, they are willingly replacing it...again.

First one acted as if it was possessed half the time.  They exchanged it.
Second one at least worked consistently (minus poor QA on some features and other features not working because Garmin decided to stop supporting them).

I bought a couple more songs on iTunes, so I have to make MP3 versions for the car and GPS.  I go to copy them to the GPS, and since the bike's been in the shop for about a month now, the battery is near dead.  Plug it into a USB charger to charge.  The unit powers on, indicates it's plugged in, then, after about a minute, seems to "reboot."  This keeps happening.  After much frustration, I leave it overnight hoping it's related to the battery having no charge.  Fully charged by morning, and unit works fine when powered on normally, but each time I plug it into a charger or PC, it does the reboot thing.  Two Windows 7 machines and my Windows 10 laptop at work later, it does it on everything.  So, no way to update software, maps, access memory, etc via USB.  So, a call to Garmin for yet another replacement unit.

The lady at Garmin did say that this series has been getting reworked because of many complaints, so hopefully this third one will be the end of it.  My 660 that's over 10 years old works perfectly.
visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Online radon222

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • Location: VA Beach
  • Posts: 1785
  • It's all Scratch's fault
  • Motorcycles: R1200GSAW, R1200RT
Re: Time for #3 GPS unit....
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2020, 11:11:31 AM »
I've seen a lot of problems with the Nav VI and I'm glad that I decided not upgrade the Nav V that came with my GSA.   The only problem I had was with the mount and that was replaced by BMW while still under warranty.

In general though,  Garmin ain't what it used to be.  I still have an ancient 550 mounted on my bike, and my has a Nav IV.   Other than being limited now on space for the new Map updates, the things still don't miss a beat.

Offline chornbe

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • Location: Wilmington, Delaware
  • Posts: 6976
    • The Pace Motorcycle Podcast
  • Motorcycles: Honda DN-01
Re: Time for #3 GPS unit....
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2020, 12:42:41 PM »
Those 550s were fantastic units. They literally don't make them like that any more, mono music not withstanding.
this signature on hold pending review

Offline OHScot

  • Member
  • Location: OH
  • Posts: 197
  • Motorcycles: K1200GT, Ural Patrol, R75/6, Reflex, CT70 clone
Re: Time for #3 GPS unit....
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2020, 01:03:12 PM »
My 550 is still going.  Though I have been told it is a little unstable.  Takes me to some odd places.   Like in: hey did your driveway used to be State Route 2, could you open the back gate for me.







Possible it has something to do with rider attention span.
They have indicated that I could be orange.

Online Virginian

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • Location: Spotsylvania, VA
  • Posts: 2987
  • Motorcycles: '18 Honda CRF250L Rally, '14 Vespa 946 Bellissma, '14 HD Wide Glide, '20 Vespa GTS 300 HPE
Re: Time for #3 GPS unit....
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2020, 01:19:17 PM »
My TomTom Rider has been going strong for 4 years now with minimal issues. If I get caught in multiple days of torrential downpours, I get a little fogging on tcorn of the screen. I know this post doesn't help you situation but I thought I would throw another hat in the ring for others.
visitors can't see pics , please register or login
Show up on time, do your best and don't grumble about the outcome.